Image Image


News Archive

Legislators named to committees overseeing financial institutions


As the new state legislative session begins, take a moment to get to know the legislative leadership and policymakers assigned to the State Senate and State Assembly Committees overseeing financial institutions. Along with the Caucus Leadership and Joint Finance Committee members, the Financial Institutions committee members are the most powerful and strategically important lawmakers in the Legislature as they oversee many issues directly related to credit unions.

Assembly Committee on Financial Institutions:


  • Rep. Dave Craig (Chair), R-Big Bend

  • Rep. Chris Kapenga (Vice-Chair), R-Delafield

  • Rep. Duey Stroebel, R-Saukville

  • Rep. Joe Sanfelippo, R-West Allis

  • Rep. Bill Kramer, R-Waukesha

  • Rep. Dean Kaufert, R-Neenah

  • Rep. Howard Marklein, R-Spring Green

  • Rep. Chad Weininger, R-Green Bay

  • Rep. Mark Born, R-Beaver Dam

  • Rep. Gordon Hintz, D-Oshkosh

  • Rep. Josh Zepnick, D-Milwaukee

  • Rep. Leon Young, D-Milwaukee

  • Rep. Jon Richards, D-Milwaukee

  • Rep. Eric Genrich, D-Green Bay

  • Rep. Melissa Sargent, D-Madison


Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Rural Issues:


  • Senator Dale Schultz (Chair), R-Richland Center

  • Senator Frank Lasee (Vice-Chair), R-Belleview

  • Senator Jerry Petrowski, R-Marathon

  • Senator Julie Lassa, D-Stevens Point

  • Senator Robert Jauch, D-Popular


Senate Officers


  • President Michael Ellis, R- Neenah
  • President Pro Tempore Joe Leibham, R-Sheboygan
  • Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald, R- Juneau
  • Majority Assistant Leader Glenn Grothman, R- West Bend
  • Majority Caucus Chairperson Frank Lasee, R- Bellevue
  • Majority Caucus Vice Chairperson Sheila Harsdorf, R- River Falls
  • Minority Leader Chris Larson, D- Milwaukee
  • Minority Assistant Leader Dave Hansen, D- Green Bay
  • Minority Caucus Chairperson Julie Lassa, D- Stevens Point
  • Minority Caucus Vice Chairperson Kathleen Vinehout, D- Alma

Assembly Officers


  • Speaker Robin Vos, R-Burlington
  • Speaker Pro Tempore Bill Kramer, R- Waukesha
  • Majority Leader Scott Suder, R- Abbotsford
  • Majority Assistant Leader Jim Steineke, R- Kaukauna
  • Majority Caucus Chairperson Joan Ballweg, R- Markesan
  • Majority Caucus Vice Chairperson John Murtha, R- Baldwin
  • Majority Caucus Secretary Mary Williams, R- Medford
  • Majority Caucus Sergeant At Arms Samantha Kerkman, R- Powers Lake
  • Minority Leader Peter Barca, D-Kenosha
  • Minority Assistant Leader Sandy Pasch, D-Shorewood
  • Minority Caucus Chairperson Andy Jorgensen, D-Fort Atkinson
  • Minority Caucus Vice Chairperson JoCasta Zamarripa, D-Milwaukee
  • Minority Caucus Secretary Janis Ringhand, D-Evansville
  • Minority Caucus Sergeant At Arms Josh Zepnick, D-Milwaukee


Joint Committee on Finance


 Senate  Assembly
 Sen. Alberta Darline (Co-Chair), R-River Hills  Rep. John Nygren (Co-Chair), R- Marinette
 Sen. Luther Olsen, R-Ripon  Rep. Pat Strachota, R-West Bend
 Sen. Sheila Harsdorf, R-River Falls  Rep. Dale Kooyenga, R-Brookfield
 Sen. Joe Leibham, R-Sheboygan  Rep. Dean Knudson, R-Hudson
 Sen Mary Lazich, R-New Berlin  Rep. Dan LeMahieu, R-Cascade
 Sen. Glenn Grothman, R-West Bend  Rep. John Klenke, R-Green Bay
 Sen. Jennifer Shilling, D-LaCrosse  Rep. Cory Mason, D- Racine
 Sen. Robert Wirch, D-Pleasant Prairie  Rep. Jon Richards, D-Milwaukee


"Credit union Activists that live, work, or have a credit union branch in the district of one of these committee members should consider reaching out, even if it is just to introduce yourself and credit unions as a resource," said Tom Liebe, VP of Government Affairs for The League.

Lawmakers rely on constituents with expertise to help guide their position and decisions. Invite them to visit your credit union. Show the strength of the credit union movement by using Project Zip Code to share the number of credit union members in their districts. Illustrate the difference between member-owned credit unions and shareholder-owned banks, with the REAL Solutions Scorecard and personal stories of how you're helping members with small loans, affordable credit, free financial counseling, financial education and more.

Questions? Contact Sarah Wainscott at (608) 514-0086.

©2005 Wisconsin Credit Union League. All rights reserved.
Site powered by iMIS.