Image Image


News Archive

Three Wisconsin credit unions win national awards

Three Wisconsin credit unions are national winners for the 2011 Dora Maxwell, Louise Herring and Desjardins award programs.


  • Marinette County Employees Credit Union won first place in the Dora Maxwell Award program, which honors credit unions for the charitable work and external programs that benefit their communities. The credit union pledged money and established itself as a collection site for expired, unused and unneeded prescription drugs to help combat the growing problem of prescription drug abuse in the community.


  • Altra Federal Credit Union won an honorable mention Desjardins Award, which recognizes credit unions for their outstanding involvement in youth or adult financial education. The credit union is extremely dedicated to providing financial education opportunities to the community through school presentations, events including the National Credit Union Youth Week and Financial Literacy Month in April, in-school credit union branches, youth websites and other savings and finance programs.


  • CoVantage Credit Union won second place in the Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Member Service Awards, which recognizes credit unions that do an outstanding job at exhibiting the credit union philosophy as part of their policies, pricing and practices with members. The credit union exhibited the credit union philosophy through a loan interest rebate and savings bonus it provides to members annually, financial education on the pitfalls of payday lenders and other financial lessons like budgeting and credit scores, and its real estate rescue refinance program, just to name a few.


Winning entries will be on display at CUNA’s 2012 Governmental Affairs Conference, March 18-22, in Washington, D.C.

©2005 Wisconsin Credit Union League. All rights reserved.
Site powered by iMIS.