Menu Toggle Search

2019 Scorecard

Our annual Scorecard illustrates the positive impact that Wisconsin's credit unions have on Wisconsin families, businesses, local organizations, and the economy as a whole--entirely because of their unique structure as member-owned cooperatives driven by a people-focused mission. It is published on an annual basis to share with legislators, policy makers, and the public. 

Wisconsin's Credit Unions: People Helping People Since 1923

We know that when you see the kinds of financial services we offer, you might think
we're just like everyone else, but there truly is a Credit Union Difference.

Thanks to our member owned, not-for-profit structure, Wisconsin's 125 credit unions can do
some pretty remarkable things for our 3.3 million members and the communities we serve. 

Because credit unions are member owned cooperatives, we're uniquely empowered
to put the needs of our members and communities before profit.

Credit unions make a difference in the lives of real people all over Wisconsin!

In 2019, Wisconsin credit unions saved members $284 million.
Numbers courtesy of CUNA Economics & Statistics, 2019 Survey of Wisconsin Credit Union League Members, National Credit Union Administration 5300 Call Report Data, and Co-op Financial Services.

98% of Wisconsin's Credit Unions are chartered under Wisconsin law, and their
statutory mission is solely to serve their members. 

Specifically, to:

"Encourage thrift among its members, create a source of credit at a fair and reasonable cost,
and provide an opportunity for its members to improve their economic and social conditions."
- Wis. Stats. § 186.01(2)

95% of Wisconsin's credit unions provided a loan of less than $500.
Numbers courtesy of CUNA Economics & Statistics, 2019 Survey of Wisconsin Credit Union League Members, National Credit Union Administration 5300 Call Report Data, and Co-op Financial Services.

In-School Branches

Wisconsin credit unions drive youth financial education by supervising nearly 100 fully functioning credit unions run by students inside schools and youth centers in Wisconsin and neighboring states. Their purpose is to teach young people a regular habit of saving. 

The branches have been applauded as a best practice for financial education, not only because they have been proven effective, but because they help advance standards for financial education at no cost to schools or taxpayers. Credit unions helped enact state law requiring students to learn basic competencies in personal finance.

As institutions owned by all members instead of a small group of investors, credit unions offer programs like this as a way of returning their earnings to the members and communities they serve.

By city, youth-run branches are operating in:


Abbotsford Elementary School


Amery High School


Antigo Middle School


Apleton East High School
Appleton North High School
Appleton West High School
Badger Elementary School
Kaleidoscope Academy 

Balsam Lake

Unity Elementary School
Unity Middle School
Unity High School 

Black River Falls

Black River Falls High School


Brillion High School

Chippewa Falls

Chippewa Falls Middle School
Halmstad Elementary School
Hillcrest Elementary School
Parkview Elementary School
Southview Elementary School
Stillson Elementary School 


Colby Elementary
Colby High School
Colby Middle School


Crandon Middle School

Crystal Falls, MI

Forest Park Middle School

Eau Claire

Flynn Elementary School
Locust Lane Elementary School
Meadowview Elementary School
Memorial High School
North High School
Northstar Middle School
Putnam Heights Elementary School
Robbins Elementary School
Roosevelt Elementary School
Sherman Elementary School

Eden Prairie, MN

Eden Praire High School


Grantsburg High School

Green Bay

Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Preble High School
West High School


Hayward Community High School


Holmen High School 

Howards Grove

Howards Grove High School


Hudson High School

Iron River, MI

West Iron Middle School


Craig High School
Parker High School


Bradford High School


Kimberly High School

La Crosse

Central High School

Logan High School


East High School 
La Follette High School
Memorial High School


Jefferson Elementary School
Lincoln High School
Monroe Elementary School
Washington Junior High


Marinette High School


Marshfield High School
Nasonville Elementary


Holy Rosary School
Immanuel Lutheran Christian Day School


Mellen Elementary School


Menomonie High School


Homestead High School


Middleton High School 


Hamilton High School


Mosinee Middle School

New Holstein

New Holstein High School

New Richmond

New Richmond High School


Oconto High School

Oconto Falls

Octonto Falls High School


J.I. Case High School
Park High School


Rhinelander High School

Rice Lake

Hilltop Elementary School
Tainter Elementary School

River Falls

River Falls High School
Rocky Branch Elementary School


Shawano Community Middle School


Central High School 
Sheboygan North High School
Sheboygan South High School


Sparta High School


Spooner Middle School
Spooner Senior High School

St. Croix Falls

St. Croix Falls Elementary School
St. Croix Falls Middle School
St. Croix Falls High School

Stevens Point

Stevens Point Area Senior High School


Lake Superior Elementary School
Northern Lights Elementary School
Superior High School
Superior Middle School


Suring High School


Tomah High School


John Muir Middle School


DC Everest Junior High School