League Staff

Contact Us

Credit Union Solutions
Wisconsin Credit Union Foundation

Executives


Brett Thompson, League President & CEO

Brett Thompson
President & CEO
(608) 640-4012 | bthompson@theleague.coop

Brett joined The Wisconsin Credit Union League in 2001. He currently serves as Board Chair of the Credit Union House in D.C. and serves on the boards of the National Credit Union Foundation, the Wisconsin Credit Union Foundation, Wisconsin Credit Union Shared Service Centers, and Reach Business Lenders®.  

He served previously on the board of directors of  a number of credit union system organizations, including the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) and its Executive, Corporate Governance, and Government Affairs Committees.

Prior to joining The League, Brett was in the private practice of law in Madison for 17 years.

For League Relations questions regarding affiliation, membership, and the credit union system, contact Brett.



Mary Bliss, EVP & COO

Mary Bliss
Executive Vice President & COO
(608) 640-4014 | mbliss@theleague.coop

Mary is in charge of the League’s human resource function, plays a key role in our Convention planning, and addresses credit unions’ planning and operational needs as a consultant.

She is a certified Credit Union Development Educator (CUDE), indicating a deep understanding of credit unions’ social responsibility and influence on domestic and international development. Mary’s passion for credit unions and their social impact guided the formation of the Wisconsin Credit Union Foundation, which promotes financial literacy, and growth and health of credit unions and their communities. She serves as a staff liaison to its Board and manages the organization's day-to-day operations.  

Having joined The League in 1978, Mary knows League operations and credit unions inside and out. Her experience in product development, member services, and human resources has impacted League-affiliated credit unions of every size and charter type. 

For League Relations questions regarding the Wisconsin Credit Union Foundation, League operations, and human resources, contact Mary.



David Hall, EVP & CFO
David Hall
Executive Vice President & CFO
(608) 640-4013 | dhall@theleague.coop

Dave helps The League develop services that leverage collaboration among credit unions to help increase their efficiency and member service and to preserve income within the credit union system. 

He brings to The League more than 30 years of experience with broad expertise in financial and asset-liability management, strategic planning and budgeting, facility development and management, regulatory and audit oversight and general business development.  

With his extensive experience with credit unions—having served more than 15 years as CFO for two large Madison-based credit unions—Dave understands the environment in which credit unions operate. 

This is Dave's second stint as a League employee - he was our CFO from 2002 to 2006.




Vice Presidents


Sarah Wainscott, VP of Government Affairs
Sarah Wainscott
Vice President of Government Affairs
(608) 640-4030 | swainscott@theleague.coop 

In nearly a decade with The League, Sarah has a wealth of experience in lobbying, grassroots advocacy, and political fundraising. She oversees the Credit Union Activist program, payroll deduction and fundraisers, is credit unions’ spokesperson on policy discussions with legislators and regulators, and offers legislative updates or presentations on the importance of advocacy for credit unions and chapters.

Sarah currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Association of Wisconsin Lobbyists and the American Association of Credit Union League’s Political Involvement & Grassroots Committee. She has a master’s degree in public affairs and a bachelor’s degree in political science and communications from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. 

For Government Affairs questions regarding political & legislative issues, contact Sarah.



Paul Guttormsson, VP of Legal & Compliance
Paul Guttormsson
Vice President of Legal & Compliance
(608) 640-4052 | pguttormsson@theleague.coop

Paul drafts regulatory comment letters on behalf of credit unions, helping to shape regulations that affect credit union operations, income, and member service. He also supervises The W.C.U.L. Services Corp.’s Compliance Specialist Program, which deploys shared employees among Wisconsin credit unions to provide hands-on support for their compliance efforts. 

Paul also supports The Legal Affairs team with telephone and email assistance to credit unions as well as research and analysis to develop The League’s ii releases, and is a frequent presenter for League compliance roundtables and webinars. 

Paul graduated with honors from UW-Eau Claire in 1985 and worked as a newspaper editor for several years before attending the University of Wisconsin Law School, where he graduated with honors in 1994. He practiced with the Milwaukee law firm Godfrey & Kahn before joining The League in 2001. 

In his free time, Paul enjoys sailing, fishing, and travel. He’s also a “cruciverbalist,” who has constructed crossword puzzles that have appeared in the New York Times, LA Times, and other publications.


Jennifer Esser, VP of Professional Development
Jennifer Esser
Vice President of Professional Development
(608) 640-4070 | jesser@theleague.coop

Since June 2009, Jennifer has developed and coordinated the more than 200 training programs each year that train 90% of all Wisconsin credit unions and help more than 2,600 front line, back office and executive staff and directors learn to perform their roles. 

She is also the lead League liaison for credit union chapters around the state. 

Prior to coming to the League in 2001, Jennifer worked within the financial industry for six years. She holds a degree from UW-Milwaukee and is a Certified Financial Educator through the Heartland Institute. Jennifer lives in Wauwatosa with her husband and two sons.

For League Services questions regarding League events and conferences, chapters, and professional development, contact Jennifer.





Tara Krejcarek, VP of Strategic Partnerships

Tara Krejcarek
Vice President of Strategic Partnerships
(608) 640-4090 | tkrejcarek@theleague.coop

Tara promotes collaboration with credit unions and helps them enhance their service to members through effective business partnerships. She has three decades of experience in financial services, over 20 of which have been with credit unions. Wisconsin credit unions have benefited greatly from her expertise in growth strategies and lending.

Previously, Tara served as a National Account Director at LSC, a CUSO formed from The Illinois Credit Union League, and as a Mortgage Loan Originator and Branch Manager at Community First Credit Union. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree from UW-Oshkosh and is currently earning an MBA at Carroll University.

For League Services related questions regarding products, services, and vendor relations, contact Tara.



Josh Roberts, VP of Systems Collaboration & Development

Josh Roberts
Vice President of System Collaboration & Development
(608) 640-4065 | jroberts@theleague.coop 

Josh is responsible for promoting credit union service and outreach, fostering opportunities for credit union growth, and leading The League’s development program for Wisconsin's young credit union professionals, the YP Network. You can also find Josh helping Wisconsin's small credit unions with operational consulting and provides strategy assistance by facilitating Strategic Planning Sessions with credit union leaders, staff and boards.

Josh has more than 18 years of experience in the financial industry, having served credit unions as a vice president, controller, and compliance officer.  In fact, he joined The League’s YP program as a credit union employee and served previously as a member of the YP Advisory Board, a YP Advisor to the League Board, and a chapter president for the Metro Milwaukee Chapter of Credit Unions. He is a graduate of CUNA Management School (where he served as Class President) and a 2016 graduate of the Credit Union Development Educators (CUDE) program.

In addition, Josh is engaged in the community, serving as Board Chair for the Milwaukee Area Technical College Accounting Advisory Board. He has previously held positions and volunteered with local neighborhood associations, the American Red Cross, and local environmental organizations.

For League Services related questions regarding young professionals, REAL Solutions®, and credit union service/outreach, please contact Josh.





Directors


Sammy Dennis, Director of Communications

Sammy Dennis
Director of Communications
(608) 640-4033
sdennis@theleague.coop 

Cari Thompson, Director of Finance & IT

Cari Thompson
Director of Finance & IT
(608) 640-4020
cthompson@theleague.coop

John Engel, Director of Legal Affairs

John Engel
Director of Legal Affairs
(608) 640-4051
jengel@theleague.coop

Angela Klaves, Director of Marketing

Angela Klaves
Director of Marketing
(608) 640-4073
aklaves@theleague.coop




Team Members

Katie Liedtke
Senior Administrative Assistant
(608) 640-4071
 kliedtke@theleague.coop

Jeff Bonk
Administrative Assistant
(608) 640-4053
 jbonk@theleague.coop

Wade Kutchera
Senior Accountant
(608) 640-4021
wkutchera@theleague.coop

Carol Nelson
Accounting Assistant
(608) 640-4022
cnelson@theleague.coop 

Nan Dorwaldt
Database Specialist
(608) 640-4024
ndorwaldt@theleague.coop

Linda Hale
Meeting & Event Manager
(608) 640-4072
lhale@theleague.coop

Missy Dickson
Office Manager
(608) 640-4032
mdickson@theleague.coop




Compliance Specialists

For the Compliance Hotline, call (800) 242-0833.

Kim Hoppe
Compliance Resource Analyst
(608) 640-4054
khoppe@theleague.coop

Lisa Alery
Compliance Specialist
Madison & Central WI Area
(608) 640-4055
lalery@theleague.coop

Rod Cory
Compliance Specialist
Madison Area
(608) 640-4057
rcory@theleague.coop

Eileen Flugaur
Compliance Specialist
Wausau/Central WI Area
(608) 640-4058
eflugaur@theleague.coop

Julie Jennerjohn
Compliance Specialist
Green Bay Area
(608) 640-4056
jjennerjohn@theleague.coop

Lois Pluff
Compliance Specialist
Manitowoc/Sheboygan Area
(608) 640-4059
lpluff@theleague.coop

Nikki Wollmer
Compliance Specialist
Southeastern WI Area
(608) 640-4060
nwollmer@theleague.coop