Toggle Search

Pat Wesenberg Development Education (DE) Scholarship


The Pat Wesenberg Development Education (DE) Scholarship (formerly known as The Foundation's Development Education Scholarship) honors the memory of Pat Wesenberg, former President of Simplicity Credit Union and longtime advocate of The Credit Union Movement who passed away in early 2021.

Pat began her career in The Movement in 1981 and was involved at both the state and national level for many years, including serving as board chair for CUNA and the National Credit Union Foundation. She was especially passionate about the National Credit Union Foundation's Development Educator program, having become a Development Educator herself in 2007 while also engaging with the European DE and African DE programs before earning her international DE designation (I-CUDE). 

As a mentor, leader, inspiration, and friend to generations of credit union leaders, and because of her tireless enthusiasm for the DE program and its principles, this scholarship is named in her honor and aims to carry on her legacy to support future individuals on their path to becoming a Development Educator. Scholarships will be awarded on the basis of need, the impact of the program on the credit union, and the applicant's involvement in and commitment to the credit union movement.


Scholarships are available to staff and volunteers of all Wisconsin credit unions. Preference is given to credit unions under $100 million in assets. The current financial position of the credit union will be considered as well. Applicants must be actively involved in credit union activities. Examples include regular participation in chapter meetings, committee work, credit union activism, etc.



The Foundation may award up to a maximum of $2,500. The recipient's credit union will be reimbursed after the program is successfully completed.


Award Recipient's Responsibilities

After completion of the program, the recipient will prepare a brief summary of his or her educational experience and share it with The Foundation.


Program Details

The scholarship will apply to the fall DE program, dates to be announced. Learn more from the National Credit Union Foundation



Applications will be accepted between March 15 and April 30. Winners will be notified May 15.



Josh Roberts at (608) 640-4065. 

Past Pat Wesenberg DE Scholarship Recipients


  • 2024: Sara Bauer, Shoreline Credit Union
  • 2023: David Murphy, Marshfield Medical Center Credit Union
  • 2021: Cassie Thom, Members First Credit Union
  • 2019: Jenny Kutz, Members First Credit Union
  • 2018: Lindsay Pelletier, Sheboygan Area Credit Union
  • 2017: Kristel Renn, STAR Credit Union 
  • 2016: Kara Guse, Glacier Hills Credit Union
  • 2015: Katie Karls, Premier Financial Credit Union 
  • 2014: Nilsa Gebert, FOCUS Credit Union
  • 2013: Don Emmer, Best Advantage Credit Union      
  • 2012: Chelsie Zima, St. Mary's & Affiliates Credit Union       
  • 2011: Dan Winters, Co-Operative Credit Union       
  • 2010: Carl Mundth, Badger Campus Credit Union