Menu Toggle Search

Professional Development Scholarships

Consideration is given for at least two distinct awards, at least one to a Young Professional and another to any other eligible applicant regardless of age.


The Foundation supports the professional development and continued education of credit union professionals. Recipients of this scholarship can apply it toward a credit union system program of their choosing based on the guidelines below. Scholarships will be awarded on the basis of need, the impact of the program on the credit union and the applicant's involvement in and commitment to the credit union movement. 


Applications will be accepted from any full-time, paid credit union employee who is dedicated to the credit union profession and actively involved in credit union activities. Consideration will be given for at least two distinct awards, at least one to a Young Professional and another to any other eligible applicant regardless of age. The Young Professional must be 35 years old or younger and a member of The Wisconsin Credit Union League's Young Professionals Network.


The Foundation will award up to $2,000 for each of the awards (the YP and other applicant) for at least $4,000 during the scholarship cycle. The total amount awarded during the scholarship cycle may be higher than this, depending on the number of applicants and available funding. The funds must be applied toward a credit union movement-affiliated program. Acceptable programs would include those sponsored by one of the following:

The recipient's credit union will be reimbursed after the program is successfully completed.

Award Recipient's Responsibilities

After completion of the program, recipients will prepare a brief summary of their educational experience and share it with The Foundation. The YP recipient will share the information with the Young Professionals Network.


Applications are accepted September 15 - October 31 annually--EXTENDED! Apply by Thursday, November 3. Winners are notified by November 15. 


Josh Roberts at (608) 640-4065.

Past Professional Development Scholarship Recipients

  • John Lyon, Southern Lakes Credit Union
  • Lois Pluff, Sheboygan Area Credit Union
  • Jonathan Roepke, Holy Family Memorial Credit Union
  • Sara Cardinal, Premier Financial Credit Union
  • John Lyon, Southern Lakes Credit Union
  • Derek Groth, Health Care Credit Union (YP)
  • Jonathan Roepke, Peoples Choice Credit Union (YP)
  • Brad Bartels, Shoreline Credit Union (YP)
  • Leah Wells, Southern Lakes Credit Union
  • Brady Bartels, Shoreline Credit Union (YP)
  • Sara Cardinal, Premier Financial Credit Union (YP)
  • Joshua Lee, Badger-Globe Credit Union (YP)
  • Michelle Floreani, Southern Lakes Credit Union
  • Michael Mehlberg, CONE Credit Union
  • Sonny Schaar, Premier Financial Credit Union
  • Dawn Grohskopf, UnitedOne Credit Union (YP)
  • David Murphy, Marshfield Medical Center Credit Union (YP)
  • Sarah Perl, Premier Financial Credit Union (YP)
  • Shelley Mell, Hayward Community Credit Union
  • Nicole Johnson, Park City Credit Union
  • Alicia Vanness, Northern Paper Mills Credit Union (YP)
  • Janelle Woggon, Governmental Employees Credit Union (YP)
  • Jennifer Bauer, RiverWood-Maritime Credit Union (YP)
  • Stacie Neuman, Best Advantage Credit Union (YP)     
  • Josh Roberts, Enterprise Credit Union (YP)